Copyright: ©Author(s) 2026.
World J Diabetes. Oct 15, 2026; 17(10): 124799
Published online Oct 15, 2026. doi: 10.4239/wjd.124799
Published online Oct 15, 2026. doi: 10.4239/wjd.124799
Table 1 Case reports of human glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist exposure before or during pregnancy
| Ref. | Country | GLP-1RA/dose | Exposure window/cessation timing | Maternal background/metabolic profile | Delivery/birth weight | Maternal outcome | Fetal/neonatal outcome | Follow-up | Interpretation |
| Williams et al[4], 2009 | United States | Exenatide, dose NR | 7 months preconception to 14 GW | 35 years; T2D, HTN, obesity, proliferative retinopathy, microalbuminuria; HbA1c 10.4% | LUCS, 38 weeks; 2835 g | Preeclampsia, intra-amniotic infection, postpartum uterine infection | Low Apgar, mild encephalopathy, neonatal sepsis | 3 months, uneventful | High-risk diabetes background; adverse neonatal outcome not clearly attributable to exenatide |
| Greco[5], 2015 | Italy | Liraglutide 1.8 mg/day | 2 years preconception to 12 GW | 37 years; T2D for 5 years, obesity, PCOS, infertility; BMI: 32.2 kg/m2 | LUCS, 37 weeks; 3790 g | Uneventful | Normal Apgar score; transient neonatal hypoglycemia | NR | Reassuring early liraglutide exposure; neonatal hypoglycemia likely diabetes-related |
| Ivanišević et al[6], 2018 | Croatia | Liraglutide 1.8 mg/day | Preconception to throughout pregnancy and lactation | 28 years; thyroidectomy for diffuse goiter/thyroid disease; uncontrolled T2D | LUCS, 39 weeks; 4220 g | Uneventful | Apgar 10/10; macrosomia | 2 years, uneventful | Unique prolonged exposure/Lactation case; macrosomia likely related to diabetes |
| Livadas et al[7], 2020 | Greece | Liraglutide 1.8 mg/day | 14 weeks preconception to 6-7 GW | 29 years; obesity with HAIR-AN syndrome, hirsutism, insulin resistance, acanthosis nigricans, severe PCOS | NR | Uneventful | Healthy baby | Uneventful | Reassuring inadvertent early exposure in severe PCOS/insulin-resistance phenotype |
| Burlina et al[8], 2023 | Italy | Dulaglutide 1.5 mg/week | 6 weeks preconception to 15 GW | 38 years; T2D for 11 years, obesity | LUCS, 37 weeks; 2860 g | Gestational hypertension; 15 kg weight gain | Cavum septum pellucidum at 20 weeks, resolved; neonatal jaundice | NR | No persistent structural anomaly; maternal metabolic risk remains major confounder |
| Alghamdi et al[9], 2023 | Saudi Arabia | Dulaglutide 1.5 mg/week | Preconception to 13 GW | 39 years; T2D for 19 years, obesity | LUCS, 38 weeks; 3100 g | Uneventful | Mild bilateral pyelectasis; Down syndrome excluded | NR; unplanned pregnancy | Mild urinary finding; no clear teratogenic pattern |
| Skov et al[10], 2023 | Denmark | Semaglutide 1 mg/week | 7 months preconception to 4 GW | 31 years; PCOS, uncomplicated myxedema | Vaginal delivery, 41 weeks + 5 days; 5230 g | 35 kg gestational weight gain | Macrosomia, shoulder dystocia, neonatal hypoglycemia | 6 months | Reassuring for malformation; macrosomia, shoulder dystocia, and neonatal hypoglycemia occurred in the setting of marked gestational weight gain and maternal metabolic risk |
| Wajtryt and Dedecjus[11], 2023 | Poland | Semaglutide, dose NR | 5 months preconception to 7 GW | 43 years; T2D; G5P4 | LUCS at term; 2750 g | Uneventful | None | NR | Reassuring but limited by sparse details |
| Patel and Healy[12], 2024 | United States | Dulaglutide 0.75 mg/week | Preconception to 15 GW | 41 years; T2D, PCOS, obesity | LUCS, 36 weeks; birth weight NR | Preeclampsia, preterm delivery | Polyhydramnios at 26 weeks, corrected by 32 weeks | NR | Maternal and fetal findings consistent with high-risk metabolic pregnancy |
| Molteni et al[13], 2024 | Italy | Dulaglutide 1.5 mg/week | 3 months preconception to 34 GW; continued during pregnancy | 42 years; G6P5; T2D for 11 years; obesity, dyslipidemia | LUCS, 38 weeks, breech; 3790 g | 5 kg weight gain; gestational hypertension | Polyhydramnios; fetal growth normal | NR | Important prolonged dulaglutide exposure; no malformation, but maternal HTN/polyhydramnios occurred |
| Okeke et al[14], 2024 | United States | Semaglutide 2 mg, single self-administered dose | Before pregnancy recognition; pregnancy detected at 6-7 GW | 34 years; G5P4; generalized anxiety, borderline personality, off-label weight loss, one previous preterm birth, three previous abortions | NR | NR | Hyperemesis gravidarum reported | NR | Limited interpretability; single-dose exposure and major psychiatric/obstetric background |
| Zhu et al[15], 2024 | China | Semaglutide, dose NR | Before pregnancy to 6 GW | 34 years; obesity | LUCS, 37 weeks; birth weight NR | NR | Micropenis, mild foot deformity | 6 months, normal growth | Isolated anomaly report; no causal inference possible |
| Abushanab et al[16], 2025 | Qatar | Liraglutide 3 mg/day | 8 months preconception to 7 GW | 29 years; G9P6; obesity, BMI 36 kg/m2; two previous preterm births, two abortions, four live births | LUCS, 37 weeks; 2330 g | Maternal weight gain 51 kg, from 80 kg to 131 kg | Low birth weight; Apgar 9/10 | 2 years, normal growth and neurodevelopment | Reassuring developmental follow-up; maternal weight rebound notable |
| Burlina et al[17], 2026 | Italy | Dulaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 23 GW | 44 years; uncontrolled T2D | Vaginal delivery, birth weight | Maternal weight gain 9 kg | No obstetric complications or congenital anomalies reported | NR | Prolonged exposure; reassuring but no follow-up |
| Huang et al[18], 2025 | United States | Dulaglutide, dose NR | First-trimester exposure; exact GW NR | 35 years; T2D, HTN, hyperlipidemia | NR | Hospitalized for septic arthritis of left shoulder with euglycemic DKA | Elective termination | NR | Termination and severe maternal illness confound fetal inference |
| Ozdemir[19], 2025 | Greece | Liraglutide | Preconception to 3.5 GW | 20 years; obesity | LUCS, 34 weeks; 2700 g | Developed GDM | NICU for 1 week | 6 months, normal development | Early exposure; prematurity/GDM not clearly drug-related |
| Jin et al[20], 2026 | China | Semaglutide 0.5 mg/week, off-label obesity use | 6 months preconception to 7 GW | 37 years; overweight, BMI: 27.73 kg/m2; chronic simple lichen planus; hypothyroidism | Vaginal delivery, 39.6 weeks; | 22 kg gestational weight gain; no GDM; no HTN or preeclampsia | Apgar 8/10 at 1 min, 10/10 at 5 min; fetal growth, NT and Doppler normal; healthy baby | 3 months, uneventful | Reassuring early semaglutide exposure; GDM/weight gain remain important |
Table 2 Case series of human glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist exposure before or during pregnancy
| Ref. | Country | GLP-1RA/dose | Exposure window/cessation timing | Maternal background/metabolic profile | Delivery/birth weight | Maternal outcome | Fetal/neonatal outcome | Follow-up | Interpretation |
| Doğan et al[21], 2024 (case 1) | Turkey | Exenatide, dose NR | 13-17 GW for approximately 4 weeks | 40 years; morbid obesity, 139 kg; PCOS and T2D; BMI: > 35 kg/m2 | First pregnancy: 37 weeks; delivery mode NR | Uneventful | ASD (secundum): 4 mm | ASD closed spontaneously by 3 years | Isolated ASD; high-risk metabolic substrate; later spontaneous closure |
| Doğan et al[21], 2024 (case 2) | Turkey | Exenatide, dose NR | 3 months preconception to 13 GW | Same patient | Second pregnancy: 37.5 weeks | Uneventful | No congenital anomaly | 5 years, uneventful | Same mother later had unaffected pregnancy; argues against reproducible teratogenic pattern |
| Banerjee and Dasgupta[22], 2026 (case 1) | India | Dulaglutide 1.5 mg/week | 7 months preconception to 6-7 GW until pregnancy confirmation | 26 years; PCOS, morbid obesity, OSA, hypothyroidism, T2D, MASLD; BMI: 47.9 kg/m2 | NR; 2900 g | Uneventful | Healthy baby | NR | Reassuring early dulaglutide exposure in high-risk metabolic background |
| Banerjee and Dasgupta[22], 2026 (case 2) | India | Oral semaglutide 7 mg/day | 12 months preconception to 6 GW until pregnancy confirmation | 28 years; PCOS, obesity, T2D, infertility; BMI: 36.25 kg/m2 | NR; 2600 g | Uneventful | Healthy baby | NR | Reassuring early semaglutide exposure; sparse follow-up |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 1) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 4 GW | 33 years; G3P2; T2D and obesity; BMI: 35 kg/m2 | LUCS, 38.3 weeks; 3910 g | Uneventful | Healthy baby | NR | Reassuring |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 2) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 4 GW | 35 years; G1P0; T2D and obesity, BMI: 37 kg/m2; HTN, smoker, idiopathic intracranial hypertension | 38.1 weeks; 3288 g | Uneventful | Cardiac anomaly, not specified | NR | Isolated unspecified cardiac anomaly with multiple maternal confounders |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 3) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 37 years; G4P3; T2D, morbid obesity, BMI: 43 kg/m2; HTN | 38.4 weeks; 3484 g | Uneventful | Healthy baby | NR | Reassuring |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 4) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 7 GW | 31 years; G6P5; T2D and obesity, BMI: 40 kg/m2; Addison disease, OSA, previous neonatal death | LUCS, 35.6 weeks; 4800 g | Preterm delivery | Macrosomia, polyhydramnios, RDS | NR | Adverse metabolic/neonatal outcomes in very high-risk pregnancy |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 5) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 35 years; G3P2; T2D and obesity, BMI: 30 kg/m2 | Vaginal delivery, 31.6 weeks; 1035 g | Preeclampsia, preterm delivery | Fetal growth restriction | NR | Severe obstetric outcome; maternal diabetes/obesity confounding substantial |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 6) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 31 years; G3P2; T2D, obesity, BMI: 40 kg/m2; PCOS | LUCS, 38.2 weeks; 3950 g | Uneventful | Macrosomia | NR | Macrosomia likely metabolic background-related |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 7) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 35 years; G1P0; T2D, obesity, BMI: 30 kg/m2 | 36.4 weeks; 3360 g | Preterm delivery | Healthy baby | NR | Preterm but otherwise reassuring |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 8) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 39 years; G3P2; T2D, overweight, BMI: 29 kg/m2 | 34.5 weeks; 3896 g | Preterm delivery | Fetal distress, RDS | NR | Adverse neonatal respiratory outcome; background T2D and prematurity confound interpretation |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 9) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 27 years; G2P1; T2D, overweight, BMI: 29 kg/m2 | 36.5 weeks; 3080 g | Preterm delivery | Healthy baby | NR | Preterm but no anomaly |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 10) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 26 years; G1P0; T2D, overweight, BMI: 26 kg/m2 | 38.1 weeks; 3348 g | Uneventful | Healthy baby | NR | Reassuring |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 11) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 4 GW | 34 years; G1P0; T2D, obesity, BMI: 40 kg/m2 | 40 weeks; 3462 g | Uneventful | Healthy baby | NR | Reassuring |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 12) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 2 GW | 33 years; G1P0; T2D, obesity, BMI: 30 kg/m2 | 38.3 weeks; 3852 g | Uneventful | Macrosomia | NR | Macrosomia likely diabetes/obesity-related |
| Morton and He[23], 2026 (case 13) | Australia | Semaglutide, dose NR | Preconception to 6 GW | 35 years; G2P1; obesity, non-T2D | LUCS, 38.5 weeks; 3930 g | Uneventful | Macrosomia | NR | Reassuring for malformation; fetal size remains a metabolic issue |
Table 3 Pharmacovigilance and regulatory clinical-trial pregnancy data
| Ref. | Evidence type | Data source | GLP-1RA exposure | Comparator | Exposure window/cessation timing | Maternal outcomes | Fetal/neonatal outcomes | Strength | Limitation | Interpretation |
| Zhou et al[24], 2025 | Pharmacovigilance signal-detection study | FAERS 19-year data | 354 pregnancy-related cases comprising 1671 ADR reports; liraglutide: 150; semaglutide: 106; dulaglutide: 52 | FAERS comparator; sensitivity analysis using other pregnant women in FAERS | Any time during pregnancy | ROR025 signals-spontaneous abortion: 32.24, preeclampsia: 5.06, Imminent abortion: 1.40, stillbirth: 1.15 | No MCM signal after sensitivity analysis using pregnant comparator | Broad real-world surveillance; multiple GLP-1RAs; used ROR and Bayesian IC; pregnancy-specific sensitivity analysis | No denominator; cannot estimate incidence or causality; reporting bias, duplicate reports, missing exposure timing, confounding by obesity/T2D/PCOS/HTN. No maternal baseline metabolic data available | Signal for spontaneous abortion and preeclampsia; hypothesis-generating, not risk-estimating |
| Parker et al[25], 2025 | Regulatory clinical-trial inadvertent pregnancy dataset | FDA/EMA regulatory trial documents before approval | 112 GLP-1RA-exposed pregnancies: Exenatide 4, lixisenatide 3, liraglutide 44, dulaglutide 7, albiglutide 6, semaglutide 41, tirzepatide 7 | 38 placebo/non-GLP-1RA comparator pregnancies | From pre-pregnancy reporting of incidental pregnancy and follow-up to delivery | 1 preeclampsia; 1 oligohydramnios; 1 low birth weight; 1 mild gestational hypertension/cholestasis; 48 healthy live births; 24 spontaneous abortions; 3 ectopic pregnancies; 14 elective terminations; 13% elective termination in both exposed and unexposed | Healthy live birth: 43% vs 34%; MCM: 1.8% vs 5.3%; stillbirth: 0.9% vs 5.3%; spontaneous abortion: 22% vs 13%; ectopic pregnancy: 2.7% vs 7.9%; nonviable pregnancies: 25.2% exposed vs 26.3% unexposed; P = NR for any outcomes | Structured regulatory clinical trial pregnancy data; class-wide exposure across several GLP-1RAs; some comparator pregnancies available | Pregnancy was an exclusion criterion; post hoc extraction; small numbers; incomplete outcomes; no adjustment for maternal baseline risk; not a conventional cohort | Reassuring against a large teratogenic signal, but should be interpreted as intermediate evidence, not definitive safety evidence |
Table 4 Diabetes-specific comparative cohort and registry studies
| Ref. | Country/design | Exposed population | GLP-1RA | Exposure window/cessation timing | Comparator | Maternal outcomes | Fetal/neonatal outcomes | Strength | Limitation | Interpretation |
| Chou et al[26], 2026 | Taiwan (China); T2D cohort | 160 T2D; 19 obese among exposed | Not specified | 90 days before through 90 days after LMP | 606 PM T2D cohort on insulin | Preterm 34.6% vs 31.9%; P = NS | MCM: 0.6% vs 0.2%; stillbirth: 4.4% vs 2.1%; SGA: 2.6% vs 3%; all P = NS | Diabetes-specific active comparator; PM T2D cohort | Small exposed sample; agent unspecified; limited power for rare anomalies | Reassuring; risk not greater than insulin-exposed T2D pregnancies |
| Cesta et al[27], 2024 | Nordic countries/United States/Israel; T2D cohort | 938 T2D; 483 obese among exposed | Not specified | 180-365 days before LMP to end of first trimester (90-97 days) | 5078 T2D on insulin | NR | MCM: 8.2% vs 7.8%; cardiac anomalies: 3.2% vs 4.2%; all P = NS. First-trimester GLP-1RA: MCM: 6.7% vs 7.8%; cardiac anomalies: 1.6% vs 4.2%. All P = NS | Large multinational population-based dataset; clinically relevant diabetic comparator | Prescription-based exposure; limited glycemic/BMI details; maternal outcomes not central | Reassuring for major teratogenicity compared with insulin-treated diabetes |
| Hanif et al[28], 2025 | United States; T2D cohort | 1826 T2D | Not specified | 1 year before to 1 month after first trimester pregnancy diagnosis | 1826 T2D unexposed to GLP-1RA (mostly LSM and/or insulin) | Maternal all-cause mortality, gestational HTN, preeclampsia/eclampsia: All P = NS | Cardiac anomaly, kidney anomaly: All P = NS | Large PM T2D cohort | Fetal assessment limited to cardiac and kidney anomalies. Agent unspecified; broad exposure window; residual confounding | Reassuring; no increased risk compared with T2D controls |
| Lewin et al[29], 2026 | United States; T2D cohort, 3-year data | 35083 DM; (T2D: 34343; T1D: 740) | Not specified | Any time during pregnancy for any duration | 108510 DM; (T2D: 98628; T1D: 9882) not on GLP-1RA | PET 13.1% vs 11.9%, P < 0.0001; preterm 23.1% vs 20.8%, P < 0.0001; CD: 44.4% vs 38.9%, P < 0.0001 | First-trimester abortion/termination 9.8% vs 7.5%, P < 0.0001; MCM: 3.3% vs 3.3%, P = 0.63; genital malformations: 0.7% vs 0.6%, P = 0.02; urinary malformations: 0.5% vs 0.4%, P = 0.01 | Very large sample; able to detect rare system-specific signals | More severe baseline cohort; possible T1D admixture; strong confounding by disease severity; broad exposure definition | Reassuring for overall MCM but signals for PET, preterm, cesarean, abortion/termination, genital and urinary anomalies require cautious evaluation |
Table 5 Obesity-, polycystic ovary syndrome-, and fertility-focused cohorts and registry studies
| Ref. | Country/design | Exposed population | GLP-1RA | Exposure window/cessation timing | Comparator | Maternal outcomes | Fetal/neonatal outcomes | Strength | Limitation | Interpretation |
| Bolek et al[30], 2026 | Slovakia; prospective cohort | 20 obese + PCOS + prediabetes | Semaglutide | Stopped ≥ 30 days before pregnancy | NR | Live birth 12/20 (60%); no reported maternal complication | Eutrophic neonates | Prospective; semaglutide-specific | Very small; no comparator; preconception discontinuation | Reassuring but not informative for continued pregnancy exposure |
| Bartelt et al[33], 2024 | United States; retrospective cohort, 7-year data | 1208 obese | Not specified | 90 days before conception to during pregnancy | Unexposed general population, n = 775478 | Preterm birth signal: 13% vs 10% | Higher NICU admission: 12% vs 8% | Large real-world cohort | General population comparator; high risk of confounding by obesity/metabolic disease | Not reassuring with general comparator. CHD and failure-to-thrive rates were similar by exposure timing; needs obesity-matched controls |
| Guo et al[31], 2025 | China; retrospective obese non-T2D cohort | 20 obese after exclusion of T2D | Semaglutide, titrated up to 2.4 mg/week | Used for 6 months; stopped 2 months before conception | 22 obese treated with LSM | GDM 20% vs 31.8%; CD similar; GWG: 9.16 kg vs 17.7 kg, P < 0.05 | No MCM; no NICU admission; no neonatal hypoglycemia; similar birth weight | Obesity comparator; T2D excluded; dose specified | Very small human study; preconception exposure only. Mostly animal/mechanistic emphasized study | Suggests improved GWG and GDM after preconception semaglutide; reassuring but underpowered |
| Li et al[32], 2022 | China; controlled preconception PCOS study | 57 overweight/obese, infertility, PCOS | Exenatide | 12-week pregestational exenatide | Obese PCOS/prediabetes; n = 60 on metformin | Spontaneous pregnancy rate by week 24: 29.2% vs 14.7%; total pregnancy by week 64: 79.2% vs 76%; pregnancy outcomes not significantly different | Miscarriage, live birth, preterm birth, GDM, gestational hypertension, macrosomia and birthweight not significantly different; one ASD reported in exenatide arm | Active comparator; preconception fertility context | Not designed as pregnancy-safety study; GLP-1RA was not continued as assigned therapy during organogenesis; metformin co-use and fertility-care surveillance confound interpretation | Early reassuring signal for preconception exenatide in PCOS |
Table 6 Mixed diabetes/obesity comparative cohorts and registry studies
| Ref. | Country/design | Exposed population | GLP-1RA | Exposure window/cessation timing | Comparator | Maternal outcomes | Fetal/neonatal outcomes | Strength | Limitation | Interpretation |
| Hviid et al[39], 2026 | Denmark; observational cohort | Liraglutide-exposed 295; semaglutide-exposed 234; T2D and obesity subgroups | Liraglutide and semaglutide vs unexposed | 8 weeks before to 8 weeks after LMP | Unexposed to liraglutide, n = 756107; unexposed to semaglutide, n = 310825 | Crude analyses-liraglutide: PET 9.2% vs 3.5%, P < 0.001. Preterm 12% vs 5%, P < 0.001; GDM 9.8% vs 4.3%, P < 0.001. Semaglutide: PET 10% vs 3.8%, P < 0.001; preterm 14% vs 5%, P < 0.001; GDM 8.1% vs 5.5%, P = 0.075. After propensity-score matching, the principal persistent association was preterm birth: Liraglutide aOR = 1.38 (95%CI: 1.01-1.90) and semaglutide aOR = 1.51 (95%CI: 1.06-2.14); this association was concentrated among women with pre-existing diabetes and was not observed in the obesity-only subgroup. Other crude differences were largely attenuated | Crude analyses-Liraglutide: LGA 18% vs 10%, P < 0.001. SGA 9.5% vs 10%, P = 0.80; placental weight increased, P < 0.001. Semaglutide: LGA 21% vs 10%, P < 0.001; SGA 11% vs 10%, P = 0.6; placental weight increased, P < 0.001 | National data; agent-specific analyses; propensity matching | Confounding by indication; mixed T2D/obesity; crude risks attenuated after matching | Risk higher for preterm in T2D-exposed cohorts but not obese cohort; most other differences attenuated after propensity matching |
| Dao et al[34], 2024 | Europe/Israel/United Kingdom; prospective cohort | 168 exposed; obese 117, T2D 46 | Liraglutide 99; semaglutide 51; dulaglutide 11; exenatide 7 | 147 women initiated GLP-1RA treatment before conception; treatment was stopped at a median GA of 5 weeks (IQR: 4-6; range: 2-40 weeks) | T2D unexposed, n = 156; obese unexposed, n = 163 | Live birth 59% vs 69% in T2D and 63% in obese; pregnancy loss including spontaneous abortion/stillbirth 23% vs 26% in T2D and 29% in obese; elective termination 18% vs 6% in T2D and 8% in obese | Preterm 8% vs 15.1% in T2D and 14.5% in obese; LGA 17.7% vs 23.4% in T2D and 6% in obese; SGA 8% vs 8.1% in T2D and 14.5% in obese; CD 46.4% vs 49.6% in T2D and 44.4% in obese; MCM: 3/117 vs 3/128 in T2D and 5/127 in obese | Prospective teratology service data; two relevant comparator groups | Small sample; referral bias; higher elective termination; limited power | Reassuring for preterm risk; increased termination; LGA risk higher than obese comparator but comparable to T2D comparator |
| Kolding et al[35], 2025 | Denmark; retrospective semaglutide cohort | 32; 27 on Ozempic, 5 on Wegovy; 22 also used insulin | Semaglutide | First trimester; 17 stopped in first trimester, and 14 continued throughout pregnancy | Insulin-exposed pregnancies without semaglutide, n = 547; no registered semaglutide or insulin, n = 103843 | Insulin comparator: Preterm 20% vs 23%, P = NS. Unexposed comparator: Preterm 20% vs 4.8%, P = 0.002 | Insulin comparator: MCM 9.4% vs 13.9%, P = NS; SGA 0% vs 4.1%, P = NS; LGA 20.7% vs 42.4%, P = 0.02; RDS 10.3% vs 8.9%, P = NS; neonatal hypoglycemia 10.3% vs 17%, P = NS; neonatal jaundice 17.2% vs 20.7%, P = NS. Unexposed comparator: MCM 9.4% vs 7.7%, P = NS; SGA 0% vs 9.5%, P = NS; LGA 20.7% vs 4.2%, P = 0.001; RDS 10.3% vs 2.4%, P = 0.024; neonatal hypoglycemia 10.3% vs 1.4%, P = 0.006; neonatal jaundice 17.2% vs 5.9%, P = 0.017 | Semaglutide-specific; two comparator groups | Very small exposed sample; high risk of bias; many on insulin; confounding by T2D severity | Apparent risk vs general/unexposed population but not vs insulin-treated T2D; comparator selection is critical |
| Imbroane et al[36], 2025 | United States; retrospective cohort | 4267; T2D 1604, obesity 3276 | Not specified; 426 tirzepatide cohort compared with 426 GLP-1RA cohort | 2 years before conception; sub-analysis 24 months, 12 months, 6 months and 3 months before conception | 1433709 unexposed unmatched; 4267 after matching | GDM 15.2% vs 18%; HDP 19.9% vs 22.8%; both P < 0.05. Reduced risk of both GDM and HDP | Preterm 3% vs 4.4%; CD 17.6% vs 19.7%; both P < 0.05; reduced risk of preterm and CD | Very large dataset; matching; timing sub-analyses; tirzepatide subgroup | Primarily preconception exposure; possible healthy-user and weight-loss confounding | Suggests antecedent GLP-1RA use may reduce coded GDM/HDP/preterm/CD; tirzepatide associated with lower CD risk |
| Pondugula et al[37], 2026 | United States; retrospective cohort, 10-year data | 243 total; T2D: 94, T1D: 9, obese 143; before pregnancy 84, during pregnancy 159 | Semaglutide 153; liraglutide 50; dulaglutide 27; tirzepatide 8 | 1 year before pregnancy to 90 days after conception | 375 unexposed: T2D 170, T1D 5, obese 200 | Lower odds of GWG below IOM recommendation with pregnancy exposure rather than before pregnancy. Obese cohort: GWG below IOM, 26% vs 38%; P < 0.01 but not significant in the diabetic cohort. Diabetic cohort: Preterm 28.4% vs 31.6%; HDP 38.8% vs 41.7%. Obese cohort: Preterm 13.6% vs 10%; HDP 19.3% vs 22%; GDM 16.4% vs 22.5% | Diabetic cohort: FGR 7.8% vs 8.6%; LGA 27% vs 32.8%; fetal death 3.9% vs 2.9%. Obese cohort: FGR 4.3% vs 6.5%; LGA 12.4% vs 11.5%; fetal death 2.9% vs 0.5% | Indication-stratified diabetic and obese cohorts; multiple agents | Small exposed sample; mixed T1D/T2D/obesity; low power for rare outcomes | No consistent significant adverse signal; GWG pattern hypothesis-generating; HDP findings require confirmation |
| Maya et al[38], 2025 | United States; retrospective pooled obstetric cohort, 9-year data | 655 total; GWG cohort 448; T2D 104, obese 344; obstetric cohort 566 | Semaglutide 202; liraglutide 118; dulaglutide 92; tirzepatide 29; others 5. Obstetric data: Semaglutide 247, liraglutide 145, tirzepatide 41 | 3 years before conception to 90 days after conception; sub-analysis 0-6 months before conception, n = 220; 90 days after conception, n = 70; | GWG analysis: 448 exposed vs 1344 matched unexposed; birthweight analysis: 442 vs 1326; obstetric outcome analysis: 566 vs 1698 | GWG: 13.7 kg vs 10.5 kg, +3.26 kg, P < 0.001. GWG lower in liraglutide than semaglutide, +2.08 kg vs +3.72 kg. Preterm: 17% vs 13%; liraglutide 13% vs 12%, semaglutide 14% vs 12%. HDP: 46% vs 36%; liraglutide 42% vs 33%; semaglutide 51% vs 38%. GDM: 20% vs 15%; liraglutide 24% vs 15%, semaglutide 17% vs 16% | CD: 46.4% vs 47%; liraglutide 41.3% vs 44.8%; semaglutide 48.5% vs 46.5%. LGA and SGA comparable | Agent and timing sub-analyses; evaluates GWG after GLP-1RA exposure/discontinuation | Exposure window extends up to 3 years; weight regain and discontinuation confounding | Prior GLP-1RA discontinuation associated with higher GWG and selected obstetric signals; residual confounding and discontinuation rebound likely. GWG higher, especially semaglutide subgroup; HDP higher in semaglutide than liraglutide; GDM higher in liraglutide than semaglutide |
| Broe et al[40], 2025 | Denmark; Danish population-based prescription safety-screening cohort | 55 liraglutide-exposed live births | Liraglutide | 0-30 days before to 91 days after LMP | Unexposed general population, n = 743276 | NR | MCM aOR = 3.52, 95%CI: 1.59-7.82 | National registry; liraglutide-specific | Screening study; live-birth-only outcome; small liraglutide sample; general-population comparator; incomplete disease-specific confounder control | Hypothesis-generating liraglutide signal requiring disease-specific validation; not definitive teratogenic evidence |
| Brown et al[41], 2026 | United States; observational cohort | 3572 | Liraglutide 903; semaglutide 1644; tirzepatide 461; dulaglutide 417; exenatide 128; albiglutide 15; lixisenatide 4 | 90 days before conception to first trimester | Continuation of further GLP-1RA dispensing into first trimester (n = 1433) vs no further dispensing after LMP among women with pre-LMP GLP-1RA dispensing (n = 1086) | Maternal outcomes not primary | Non-live birth: aRR = 1.09 (95%CI: 0.98-1.23); spontaneous abortion: aRR = 0.99 (95%CI: 0.88-1.13); elective termination: aRR = 1.78 (95%CI: 1.29-2.60). Among linked live births, prevalence ratios were 1.29 (95%CI: 0.82-2.06) for SGA, 1.08 (95%CI: 0.84-1.40) for LGA, and 1.21 (95%CI: 0.83-1.82) for MCM | Large cohort; clinically relevant continuer vs non-continuer comparison | Confounding by reason for continuation, disease severity, pregnancy intention and counseling; maternal outcomes NR | Reassuring against large fetal structural signal from continued dispensing; elective termination increase was likely influenced by pregnancy recognition, counseling, exposure anxiety, or pregnancy intention; no evidence supporting intentional continuation |
Table 7 Systematic reviews and meta-analyses of human glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist exposure around pregnancy
| Ref. | Search window/databases | Included evidence | Exposed pregnancies | Exposure window | Main maternal outcomes | Main fetal/neonatal outcomes | Strength | Limitation | Interpretation |
| Kodali et al[42], 2026 | PubMed and Google Scholar; January 2010-April 2025 | 4 observational studies: 3 retrospective cohorts from North America/Europe and 1 prospective cohort from Europe/Middle East | 5405 exposed for fetal composite analysis; total pregnancies 36963 | During or before pregnancy; only 21% periconceptional/first trimester | Adverse maternal outcomes lower: OR = 0.72, 95%CI: 0.66-0.79, P < 0.00001. Preterm birth lower: OR = 0.66, 95%CI: 0.53-0.82, P = 0.0001 | Major congenital anomalies not increased: OR = 1.08, 95%CI: 0.86-1.37, P = 0.51; insulin-only comparator OR = 1.00, 95%CI: 0.77-1.28, P = 0.98. Overall adverse fetal outcomes: Text reports OR = 0.91, 95%CI: 0.72-1.16, P = 0.44; forest plot reports OR = 0.59, 95%CI: 0.36-0.96, P = 0.03 with I2 = 87% | Focused SRMA; includes comparator cohorts; highlights lack of MCM signal | Only 4 studies; no formal risk-of-bias table reported; text/figure inconsistency for adverse fetal outcome; sparse outcomes; study dominance; heterogeneous exposure/comparators | Reassuring for MCM, but apparent maternal/preterm benefit should be interpreted as observational association rather than drug benefit |
| Armstrong et al[43], 2025 | PubMed, EMBASE, Cochrane; up to June 2025 | Comparative studies; table/review reports inconsistently describe 6-9 studies; includes cohort/RCT-derived data | 8761 exposed among 182269 participants | Pregnancy/preconception; first-trimester subgroup reported | GDM: OR = 0.86, 95%CI: 0.56-1.32, P = 0.49. Miscarriage: OR = 1.16, 95%CI: 0.82-1.65, P = 0.41. Live birth: OR = 0.72, 95%CI: 0.50-1.06, P = 0.10 | Major birth defects: OR = 0.97, 95%CI: 0.77-1.22, P = 0.79; CHD: OR = 0.63, 95%CI: 0.42-0.95, P = 0.03; preterm delivery: OR = 1.66, 95%CI: 0.23-12.23, P = 0.62, I2 = 98%; stillbirth: OR = 0.29, 95%CI: 0.07-1.20, P = 0.09 | Used ROBINS-I/RoB2; leave-one-out sensitivity; first-trimester subgroup analyses; publication bias not assessed because fewer than 10 studies | Internal inconsistency in study count; pooled heterogeneous evidence including Parker regulatory data and preconception fertility RCT; high heterogeneity for preterm birth; unexpected protective CHD signal likely confounded | Supports absence of major malformation signal; not sufficient to infer fetal protection or pregnancy safety |
| Hakim et al[44], 2026 | PubMed, EMBASE, Web of Science; through Nov 2025 | 22 studies in systematic review; 10 comparative observational studies in meta-analysis; case reports/series and pharmacovigilance summarized narratively | 49395 exposed pregnancies overall; 43579 exposed in comparative observational MA as reported | 3 months before LMP through pregnancy | Preterm delivery OR = 1.11, 95%CI: 0.84-1.47, I2 = 46.1%; live birth OR = 0.63, 95%CI: 0.37-1.09; spontaneous pregnancy loss OR = 1.13, 95%CI: 0.68-1.88; elective termination OR = 2.39, 95%CI: 0.32-17.68; HDP OR = 0.86, 95%CI: 0.52-1.43; preeclampsia OR = 1.55, 95%CI: 0.57-4.19; CD OR = 1.42, 95%CI: 0.55-3.64 | MCM: OR = 1.19, 95%CI: 0.72-1.98, I2 = 58.5%; CHD: OR = 0.88, 95%CI: 0.53-1.44, I2 = 47.7%; renal malformations OR = 1.23, 95%CI: 1.09-1.39, I2 = 0%, largely driven by one large cohort; T2D-only MCM: OR = 1.01, 95%CI: 0.98-1.06; semaglutide-only live birth: OR = 0.57, 95%CI: 0.35-0.95 | Largest and most comprehensive synthesis; separates comparative MA from narrative noncomparative evidence; comparator-specific and agent-specific analyses; Joanna Briggs Institute appraisal | Residual confounding by disease severity; prescription/dispensing exposure misclassification; heterogeneous comparators; publication-bias assessment was limited by the small number of studies contributing to individual outcomes; no clear leave-one-out for renal signal | Strongest current synthesis: Cautiously reassuring for overall MCM, but renal signal and semaglutide live-birth finding require cautious, granular evaluation |
- Citation: Singh R, Singh A, Singh AK. Human pregnancy outcomes after early glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist exposure: A scoping review. World J Diabetes 2026; 17(10): 124799
- URL: https://www.wjgnet.com/1948-9358/full/v17/i10/124799.htm
- DOI: https://dx.doi.org/10.4239/wjd.124799